SterVens’ Tell It, My Word on the TV Scene (Part. III): THE FOLLOWING, Why, Why, But Why Not?

The following is that type of show where the premise limits the art; where could it go and for how long. Still, that doesn’t stop the network and the creator to milk the idea as long as the viewers are watching. I’ve watched the first season; the first six episodes kept me on the edge of my seat. After episode seven I wanted to stop but I stuck around. Now I’m wondering should I stick around for another season; after all I’m getting disappointed with where the series is heading. The main issue with season one; why is Kevin Bacon character (Ryan Hardy) always facing Joe alone? Come on, how many times can you do the same dance? I have watched the first episode of second season; Joe is alive. Really Following writers; Joe’s ghost hunting Ryan should be enough to keep James Purefoy employed. In the other hand I thought the show already had its end game. I guess fox didn’t think so, so were 11.18 million viewers, DVR and counting. But the next episode dropped down to 6.02 million viewers without adding the DVR viewers. Some shows are meant to be a mini-series, maybe a one season show. And again, Kevin Williamson would be an idiot to say not to continue a show that not only pays his rent but also keeps hundreds maybe thousands people employed. At the end the show runner doesn’t have any say so; the network has the finale say. People like Kevin W. should count his blessings; because in Hollywood only 10 percent of pilots get to be shot, with the one that airs maybe 30 percent of them get to see another season. I’ll keep on watching to reveal what millions of people are thinking, but they have no way of sharing their opinions. Oops, maybe they’re not paying any attention to the underline stories…This is SterVens’ Tell It/For Your Entertainment!!!

One thought on “SterVens’ Tell It, My Word on the TV Scene (Part. III): THE FOLLOWING, Why, Why, But Why Not?

  1. The Following’s main problem is lazy plotting. While I realize it may be difficult to come up with original, exciting ideas every week, I agree with John that shows premise actually limits it creatively. It would have been better as a movie or miniseries. After the first few thrilling episodes things went downhill fast, episodes became repetitive, plot holes opened so large you could drive a train through them, and week after week the FBI let Kevin Bacon’s character face Joe or his minions alone; never catching on that they should have a contingent of agents with him at all times. I stopped watching after episode 7 as the plotting became more and more ridiculous. I think the rest of America will abandon “The Following” when they realize their watching the same episode every week.

Leave a comment